Treasury Today Country Profiles in association with Citi

Coming soon

Are you ready for the new FX landscape?

Thursday 23rd February 2017 at 14:00 GMT | 09:00 EST | 15:00 CET
Neill Penney
Presenter

Neill Penney
Managing Director, Trading, Thomson Reuters

Facilitator

John Nicholas
Research Director, Treasury Today Group

Following a number of recent scandals, the Bank of International Settlement (BIS) has outlined its new global code of conduct for foreign exchange with an aim to bring confidence and transparency back to the foreign exchange markets. The move will of course mean changes to the FX industry that will have an acute impact on how banks and corporate treasury departments interact.

What do these changes mean for corporate treasurers and how will they impact their FX trading activity? In this webinar, Neill Penney, Managing Director, Trading at Thomson Reuters outlines what this all means and why it may be a good time for treasurers to take a deeper look into their FX activity.

The objective being not only to ensure that treasury is prepared for the new rules, but also to look at ways to begin leveraging best in class analytical tools to conduct a prudent transaction cost analysis (TCA) of all deals and prove best execution, tap into new trading strategies, leverage performance measurement tools in order to demonstrate their worth, meet due diligence requirements and enhance performance.

Estimated duration: 45 minutes

Register now Download calendar item

Are you spending too much time with your banks?

Thursday 2nd March 2017 at 16:30 GMT | 08:30 PST | 11:00 EST | 17:30 CET
Adam Smith Awards 2016 Overall Winner – First Class Relationship Management
Photo of Anita Prasad
Presenter

Anita Prasad
General Manager, Treasury Capital Management, Microsoft

Facilitator

John Nicholas
Research Director, Treasury Today Group

The corporate finance team at this household name used to spend about a third of their working hours with banks and the boss wanted to know why. They implemented a bank relationship tracker to monitor bank engagement and improved their ROI considerably as a result.

Read the case studies: First Class Relationship Management | Best Risk Management Solution | One to Watch | Best in Class Treasury Solution in the Middle East | Best AR Solution | Harnessing the Power of Technology

Estimated duration: 45 minutes

Register now Download calendar item

Reaching new heights in treasury

Wednesday 22nd March 2017 at 09:00 GMT | 05:00 EDT | 10:00 CET | 13:00 GST
Adam Smith Awards 2016 Overall Winner – Top Treasury Team, Best Cash Management Solution and Best Financing Solution
Photo of Adam Ben Boukadida Photo of Ricky Thirion
Presenters

Adam Ben Boukadida
Deputy Treasurer, Etihad Airways

Ricky Thirion
Group Treasurer, Etihad Airways

Facilitator

John Nicholas
Research Director, Treasury Today Group

Etihad were successful in two other categories this year in addition to being awarded our Top Treasury Team for 2016.

Under the leadership of Ricky Thirion, Group Treasurer and Deputy Treasurer, Adam Ben Boukadida, the company has delivered a multi-disciplined programme covering payment processing, liquidity management, collections and supply chain finance ahead of a scheduled change to the ERP platform in H216. This was a cross-functional team effort involving treasury, finance and IT.

They also provided a classic lesson in how to issue a Global Cash Management Request for Proposal (RFP) to accommodate the company’s requirements across 71 countries. Having selected two key partner banks, one to cover the Middle East and the other as international partner, some impressive benefits accrued. This project earned them Overall Winner in the Best Cash Management Solution category.

You may also recall this company has won previously with a most innovative solution whereby it used landing rights at London’s Heathrow airport to secure finance. Well, this time it has managed to secure financing ($700,000 6.875% Notes due 2020) along with its equity partners (namely Alitalia, Air Berlin, JetAirways and Air Seychelles) for capital expenditure and investment in fleet as well as for refinancing depending on each airline’s needs. A most impressive and deserving overall winner in the Best Financing Solution category.

Read the case studies: Top Treasury Team | Best Cash Management Solution | Best Financing Solution

Estimated duration: 45 minutes

A DIY approach to treasury technology

Wednesday 26th April 2017 at 09:00 BST | 10:00 CEST | 16:00 CST
Adam Smith Awards Asia 2016 Overall Winner – Harnessing the Power of Technology
Photo of Randy Ou Photo of Olivia Yang
Presenters

Randy Ou
Treasury VP, Alibaba

Olivia Yang
Product Manager, Alibaba

Facilitator

John Nicholas
Research Director, Treasury Today Group

This e-commerce giant decided to develop a treasury management platform in-house. They have delivered a web-based system which provides cash visibility, transaction based liquidity, investment and financing management systems with standard operational processes and a management dashboard. The platform presents its uniqueness and strengths featuring the capabilities of multi-banking, automation, real-time based data analytics, secure and reliable technical infrastructure, and user friendly interface. The benefits of this have been notable, including improving cash visibility by more than 95%.

Read the case study: Harnessing the Power of Technology

Estimated duration: 45 minutes

Benchmarking on Mars

Wednesday 17th May 2017 at 09:00 BST | 10:00 CEST | 16:00 HKT
Adam Smith Awards Asia 2016 Overall Winner – Best in Class Benchmarking
Photo of Fina Ching
Presenter

Fina Ching
Asia Tax, Treasury and Benefits Director, Mars Foods Inc.

Facilitator

John Nicholas
Research Director, Treasury Today Group

Mars introduced a four-phased approach to its benchmarking exercise which has identified best-in-class solutions, working with its partner bank, across each of its key business lines. They have realised operational and treasury efficiencies and it is a process of continuous improvement supported by an annual two-day session between Mars and its bank.

Read the case study: Best in Class Benchmarking

Estimated duration: 45 minutes